Friday, 27 January 2023

Just In: Tribunal sacks Adeleke, declares Oyetola as Osun governor

The Osun state Governorship Election Petition Tribunal has declared APC’s Adegboyega Oyetola as the winner of the Osun State governorship election which held on Saturday, July 16, 2022. 

The declaration was made as it annulled the victory of the PDP’s Ademola Adeleke on Friday, January 27, 2023. 

According to Justice Tetsea Kume, while delivering a majority decision declared that INEC did not comply substantially with the Constitution and the provisions of the Electoral Act.

The tribunals held that the Governorship election was characterise as over voting. it's said after subsequently deducted the over-voting observed from the votes scored by the candidates and declared that Oyetola won the election, having polled 314, 921, while Adeleke’s score came down to 290, 266.

No comments:

Post a Comment